MKT 320F Past Exam Answer Review – Flashcards

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According to the "physical distribution concept":
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all transporting, storing, and product-handling activities of a business and a whole channel system should be coordinated as part of one system
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When Herbal Essences offers "dollar-off coupons" to adult women to try to get them to try its shampoos and conditioners, this is an example of:
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sale promotion
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Which of the following would NOT be favorable to successful branding?
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Product quality fluctuates due to variations in raw material
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Which of the following gives the correct order of the steps in the new-product development process?
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Idea generation, screening, idea evaluation, development, commericalization
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Macro-marketing:
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tries to effectively match supply and demand
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Reference group
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members may not even know the people who influence their values and attitudes
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When consumers screen out or modify ideas, messages, and information that conflict with previously learned attitudes and beliefs, this is called:
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selective perception
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The "rule for maximizing profit" is that a producer should set a price such that:
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marginal cost is just less than or equal to marginal revenue
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Consumer product classes are based on _______, while business product classes are based on ______.
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how consumers shop for the product, how the product is to be used
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Organizational buyers:
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are likely to do little search for additional information if the purchase is unimportant
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A "product-market" is a market in which:
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sellers offer very close substitute ways of satisfying potential customers' needs
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Ideally, a "channel captain":
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earns that "position" by effective leadership
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Jan Alvarez works for a cable TV company in a large city. She makes telephone calls during the early evening and tries to sell cable services to non-subscribers. Jan is...
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an order getter
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General Electric's "strategic planning grid" is an approach for:
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evaluating existing and possible plans
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NAFTA:
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all of the above (is a free-trade pact between the U.S., Canada, and Mexico; is a long-term proposition; has eliminated most trade barriers with Mexico in the past 15 years)
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The "economic-buyer" model:
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is seen as too simplistic by most marketing managers
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A straight salary
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is seen as too simplistic by most marketing managers
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Resident buyers
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are independent buying agents who work for several retailers
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During the sales era
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increased competition made firms focus on winning customers
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Some manufacturers give _____ to retailers to pass onto the retailers' salesclerks to encourage aggressive selling of specific items or lines
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"push money"
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A target market and a related marketing mix make up a:
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Marketing strategy
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Industry profits are largest in which of the following product life cycle stages
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Market growth
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Which of the following statements about secondary data is correct?
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Secondary data may be available much faster than primary data
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________ is a marketing management aid which refers to how customers think about proposed and/or present brands in a market
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Positioning
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The railroad service which picks up truck trailers at a producer's location, loads them onto rail flatcars, hauls them close to the customer, and then delivers them to the buyer's door is:
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piggyback service
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A sales-oriented objective may seek all of the following EXCEPT
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target return profits
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A sales-oriented objective may seek all of the following
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some level of unit sales, some level of dollar sales, share of the market, and percentage of the market
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In the United States, the ____ has the power to control unfair or deceptive business practices, including deceptive advertising
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FTC
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A Hewlett-Packard "all-in-one" printer that serves as a computer printer, fax machine, copier, and scanner would fall into which of the following business product classes?
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Accessories
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Which of the following is NOT one of the target marketing approaches for developing market-oriented strategies in a broad product-market?
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Exclusive
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_______ means that the marketing mix is distinct from and better than what is available from a competitor
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Differentiation
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This promotional approach emphasizes the importance of securing the wholehearted cooperation of channel members to promote the product in the channel and to the final user
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Pushing
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What is the first step in the marketing research process?
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Defining the problem
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"Discrepancies of quantity" means:
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the difference between the quantity of products it is economical for an individual producer to make and the quantity normally wanted by individual consumers or users
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Regarding Internet advertising
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All of the above (search ads know what customers are looking for based on the keywords that customers use in a search; ads can be delivers to customers based on which other Web sires customers have visited; most ads try to get customers to click-through to the firm's Web site; one in 5 clicks on online ads may be fraudulent)
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Identify the INCORRECT statement about the effect of marital status, age, and the age of any children in the family, on how people spend their income
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Younger people usually earn more than older consumers, but spend less on discretionary items
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Among the multiple buying influences, _____ control the flow of information within the organization
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gatekeepers
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More freight is carried more miles ______ than any other mode of transportation
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by railraods
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Business firms in the late majority group
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tend to be conservative, smaller-sized firms with little specilization
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A computer software company sent 3 computer magazines some information about the latest release of its popular software program. One of the magazines printed a story about the new version. This is an example of:
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publicity
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Gradual "rollouts" are characteristic of which step of the new-product development process?
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commercialization
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Regarding markups and turnover:
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higher markups do not always lead to higher profits; low stockturn rates increase costs by tying up working capital in inventory
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Using advertising to develop selective demand:
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may become necessary as a firm's product moves through its product life cycle
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______ refers to the total market value of all goods and services provided in a country's economy in a year by both residents and nonresidents of that country
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Gross domestic product
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When using ______, researchers compare the responses of two or more groups that are similar except on the characteristic being tested
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experimental method
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Identify a weakness of the average-cost approach
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it ignores competitors' cost and prices
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With that _____ approach, the salesperson assumes that a customer faced with a particular stimulus will say yes to his request for an order
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prepared sales
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A target return figure of zero implies:
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setting a price level that will just recover costs
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A first step in evaluating marketing opportunities is to:
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consider the objectives and resources of the firm
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Intensive distribution at the retail level would probably be most appropriate for:
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batteries
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All of the following statement bout the income distribution in the U.S are correct EXCEPT
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during the 1960s the growth in income slowed due to inflation
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All of the following statement bout the income distribution in the U.S are correct
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sixty years ago, most families were just over a subsistence level; by the 1970s, real income in the U.S. had risen; since 2000, median income was declined; real income growth has slowed
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The percent of people contacted in a survey who complete a questionnaire is the:
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response rate
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"Place" is NOT concerned with:
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telling the target market what products are available -- and where
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The North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA):
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Has resulted in the movement of production jobs to Mexico due to lower labor costs.
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MACRO-marketing:
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tries to match heterogeneous supply capabilities with heterogeneous demands for goods and services.
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A young working couple earned $55,000 last year. They paid $16,000 in taxes and $20,000 in rent, food, insurance and other necessities. What was their disposable income for the year?
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$39,000
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A marketing manager wants to know why her sales are down. She talks with several sales reps and finds that a competitor has introduced a successful new product. This "research" seems to be part of
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the situation analysis
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The total group under study is called:
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the population
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Differnetiation means that
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a firm's marketing mix is distinct from and better than what is available from a competitor.
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In the political environment, an emphasis on a single country's interests before everything else is called:
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nationalism
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An economic system in which government planners determine production levels is known as
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a command economic system
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Most businesses that fail do so because:
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they fail to execute on the business plan
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A product-market is one
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in which exchanges are based on barter rather than money; in which competing sellers offer physically or conceptually similar products
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The most important reason to use focus groups is to:
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discover unexpected findings that can be obtained from free flowing group discussions.
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Which legal case which was decided by the Supreme Court resulted in a decision which states that only "unreasonable" restraints of trade are illegal?
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The Standard Oil Case of New Jersey
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The holder of a lost or stolen credit card:
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is limited to $50 of liability.
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Most stimuli people see every day and are screened out by them. This process is called:
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selective attention.
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Which of the following U.S. antimonopoly laws deals with "tying contracts" where the sale of one product is contingent on the business customer purchasing other products from the same supplier?
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Clayton Act (1914)
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Along with studying trends in the environment, a first step in looking for attractive opportunities is to:
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understand the resources and objectives of the firm.
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Which of the following is NOT a key to the understanding of a strategic plan?
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- Long-term time horizon - The boundaries of the plan are set by the firm's mission - The plan forces the firm to examine its strength's and weaknesses - The plan helps the firm decide where it will invest its resources in the future
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The difference between the benefits a customer sees from a market offering and the cost of obtaining those benefits is called:
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customer value
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When consumers screen out or modify ideas, messages, and information that conflict with previously learned attitudes and beliefs, this is called:
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selective perception.
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A mail-order marketer of flower bulbs to gardening hobbyists decides to sell the bulbs in grocery stores--to reach nonhobbyists who might be interested in pretty flowers. This is an example of:
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market development
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Market segmentation:
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tries to identify homogeneous submarkets within a product-market.
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A manager with a "production orientation" is likely to think that:
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customers exist to buy the firm's output.
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An estimate of the U.S. birthrate for the year is 14. This means that
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14 babies were born per 1,000 people in the population.
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"Puffery" is:
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Legal
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What are the basic forces that motivate a person to do something?
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Needs
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When deciding how far to carry the segmenting process,
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profit should be the balancing point--determining how unique a marketing mix the firm can offer to some target market.
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The Wheeler-Lea Amendment specifically aims at:
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unfair or deceptive practices.
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Which of the statements about culture is true?
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- Culture is learned behavior - culture transmits collective problem solving wisdom
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In a simple economy, one family may produce only cooking pots, but many of them. Others may specialize in farming, making clothing, and building shelters. This
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shows why "discrepancies of assortment" occur.
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The whole set of beliefs, attitudes, and ways of doing things of a reasonably homogeneous group of people is a(n):
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culture
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According to the text, your social class level does not depend directly on your:
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income level
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All of the groups that have a direct or indirect influence on consumers behavior are called.
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reference groups
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A "marketing plan" is:
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a marketing strategy--plus the time-related details for carrying it out.
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Why are personal interviews usually preferred for research with business customers?
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The interviewer can explain complicated directions and perhaps get better responses.
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The key to s successful SWOT analysis is to:
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- do a careful and honest evaluation of the firm's strength's and weaknesses. - examine the competitor's strengths and weaknesses now and in the future. - carefully study the environment factors that are beyond the control of the firm
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It's best to think of "breakthrough opportunities" as opportunities which:
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help innovators develop hard-to-copy marketing mixes.
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The scientific method in marketing research
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forces an orderly research process.
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Regarding the family life cycle, singles and younger couples without children
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are more willing to try new products and brands.
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A marketing model is a
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statement of relationships among marketing variables.
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A ______ is an integrated economic and social unit with a large population nucleus.
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Metropolitan Statistical Area
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Gross domestic product (GDP) is the:
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total market value of goods and services provided in an economy in a year by both residents and nonresidents of that country.
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An agreement by the seller as a condition of the sale to the buyer that the buyer will not purchase for resale the products of other competitive sellers is called:
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an exclusive agreement.
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The process of naming broad product-markets and then segmenting them in order to select target markets and develop suitable marketing mixes is called:
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market segmentation
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A set of benefits that can be offered to customers that meet their needs is called the firm's:
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value proposition
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Some marketers stretch the meaning of "attitude" to include:
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intention to buy
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The first step in the seven-step approach for segmenting product-markets is to
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select the broad product-market
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It is very difficult to eliminate risk in most marketing decisions because the analyst
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- is dealing with complex human beings and their decision process. - is often dealing with rapidly changing macro-environmental forces. - is often dealing with an evolving competitive environment.
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Complete acceptance of the "marketing concept" would require:
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making sure that all departments focus their efforts on satisfying customer needs.
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Which of the following statements are correct?
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The major disadvantage of the percentage of sales approach for determining advertising budgets is that it views promotion expenditures as the result of sales.
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The current status of the "battle of the brands" is that:
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competition has reduced the gap in prices.
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A low stockturn rate
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ties up working capital.
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To communicate a very specific message to a very select, well-identified group of consumers, one probably should use:
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integrated direct-response promotion.
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Which one of the following is a normal task of a brand manager
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- Develop a long-range competitive strategy for the product. - Develop an annual marketing plan for the product. - Work with advertising agencies to develop an advertising strategy for the product. - Stimulate the sales force that sells the product.
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Purchasing managers
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may be willing to pay more to reduce personal risk.
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If real income increases then there will most likely be:
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a positive shift in the demand curve for new houses.
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Prices are "administered" when:
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firms consciously set their own prices.
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A penetration pricing policy
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tries to sell the whole market at one low price
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Committee buying in large retail chains
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reduces the impact of a persuasive sales rep
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Convenience products are products
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a consumer needs but is not willing to spend much time or effort shopping for.
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Decoding is:
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the reverse of encoding
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The government market:
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Often has a buying process that includes purchase specifications and competitive bidding procedures.
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Total cost:
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increases directly with increases in total variable cost.
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If a retailer purchases a product for $30.00 and charges a 20% mark-up, its selling price will be (using standard assumption with respect to the definition of a mark-up as discussed in class):
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$37.50
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Given the following data, determine the break-even point in units: Total fixed cost = $120,000 Variable cost per unit = $0.60 Selling price per unit = $1.10
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240,000
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Words, symbols, or logos that are legally registered for use by a single company are:
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Trademarks
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Seeking to stop declining sales for an established mouthwash, a sales manager suggests that new coloring be added to the product and a major promotion effort be started for the "new" product. The Federal Trade Commission would:
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probably not approve of this at all because the product doesn't meet the FTC's definition of "new."
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A large U.S. firm produces potato chips, shortening, dishwasher detergent, laundry detergent, shampoo, disposable diapers, and facial tissues. These are the firm's
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product assortment
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A flexible-price policy means offering
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the same product and quantities to different customers at different prices.
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If a firm reduces its price from $7 to $5 and demands increase from 10 to 15 units, the firm has an:
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elastic demand curve
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Just in time inventory systems are an example of:
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channel differentiation
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A producer using very aggressive promotion to get final consumers to ask intermediaries for a new product has:
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pulling policy
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Which of the following adopter groups is most important to "sell"--given the importance of opinion leaders?
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Early adopter
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An integrated direct-response promotion is most likely to be effective if:
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it relies on a CRM database to target specific individuals
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"Target return pricing":
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seeks to earn a percentage return on investment or a specific total dollar return.
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If a supermarket runs an ad for a gallon of milk in the local newspaper at a price that many consumers will recognize as a low price for this product, this is an example of:
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Leader pricing
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Which of the following characteristics is not true of pure competition?
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Human capital is not always mobile
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The use of a firm's brand name to enter totally new markets is called:
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brand extension
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______________ means target customers will generally choose a particular brand over other brands--perhaps out of habit or past experience.
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Brand preference
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Which of the following is true concerning advertising messages?
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Two-sided messages may be appropriate if the audience is initially opposed to the idea
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The basic premise behind competitive bidding is the firm wants to:
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maximize expected profits
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Straight rebuy
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vendor selections are likely to be made by a purchasing manager--without consulting anyone else.
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A "buying center"
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may vary from purchase to purchase
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At Toyota, its Lexus designers attempt to make improvements to the car's design each year, even if those changes are minor ones. This process is an example of:
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continuous improvement.
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To encourage potential customers to buy a recently-released book, Amazon.com provides online reviews written by others who have already read the new book. This is an example of:
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publicity
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Impulse products:
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are likely to gain or lose sales depending on where they're sold.
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In developing a branding strategy, the first question the firm must address is:
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What target market is the firm trying to reach?
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Which of the following is NOT within the power of the Consumer Product Safety Commission?
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It can conduct random searches for unsafe products in consumers' homes.
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Which of the following is within the power of the Consumer Product Safety Commission?
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- it can set safety standards for products - it can order repairs of unsafe products - i can order returns of unsafe products - it can back up its orders with fines and jail sentences
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A pricing objective that seeks a specific level of profit is a:
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target return objective
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Noncumulative quantity discounts
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apply only to individual orders.
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What basic promotion objective should be sought by a producer whose Product is very similar to its many competitors' Products?
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Persuading
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Which of the following are requirements for differential pricing to be successful?
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- Market segmentation - buyers in low price segments must not be able to resell to buyers in higher price - competitors must not be able to undersell the firm in higher price segments
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A firm with a stockturn rate of 4 sells products that cost it $100,000. This requires _____ worth of inventory.
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$25,000
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Building quality into services:
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can be improved by giving employees the authority to correct a problem on their own
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A firm in monopolistic competition has "marginal revenue" which:
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is the change in total revenue which results from the sale of one more unit of a product.
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A producer of sports equipment offers its retailers a 2 percent price reduction on all purchases if the dealer advertises the products locally. Apparently, the producer is using
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an advertising allowance
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In the market introduction stage of a fast product life cycle, _____ helps develop loyal customers early and keeps competitors out.
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a low initial penetration price
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Chrysler manufactures cars in Detroit and loads them on truck trailers at the factory. Burlington Northern Santa Fe (BNSF) picks up the truck trailers, loads them on specially designed rail flatcars, and ships them to St. Louis. There they are delivered by truck to local dealers. This transportation process is:
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piggyback
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Regarding advertising media selection, which of the following is the best advice?
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"Be sure the media match your target market."
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Advertising spending
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represents only a small portion of what people pay for products.
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Independent sales people that do not own the product and carry little, if any, inventory are called:
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manufacturer's agents
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Which of the following is true about public warehouses?
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- They are leased by companies for their own use. - They are useful for manufacturers that must maintain stock in many locations, including foreign countries.
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Compared to a warehouse, a DISTRIBUTION CENTER is:
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set up to speed the flow of products toward the consumer.
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Legal concerns about channel of distribution arrangements are most likely to arise when:
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there are horizontal arrangements between firms at the same level of the channel.
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"Intensive distribution" means selling through:
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all responsible and suitable retailers or wholesalers.
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The number of different persons or households exposed to a media schedule once during a specified time
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reach
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Separating products into grades and qualities desired by different target markets is called:
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sorting
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Behavioral targeting
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delivers ads to consumers based on previous websites the customer has visited.
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Which of the following is true regarding JIT systems?
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JIT requires suppliers to respond to very short order lead times and the customer's production schedule.
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A good job description for a salesperson:
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Lists the specific tasks that salespeople are expected to do.
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A good marketing manager organizing a new sales force knows that:
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it may be necessary to rely on team selling and have more than one rep call on a single customer if different skills are needed.
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Many countries forbid this form of advertising.
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comparative advertising
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Airfreight
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- can reduce the cost of preparing goods for distribution - can help reduce inventory costs
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A firm acquiring another firm at a different level of activity within a channel of distribution is called:
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vertical integration
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Which of the following statements is true?
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High market share brands normally requires less advertising as a percentage of sales than do brands that have a low market share.
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A salesperson for cold remedy products visits pharmacists during the cold season and encourages them to use a special end-of-aisle display for his firm's cough syrup and then helps set up the display. The salesperson is a(n)____________.
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Missionary salesperson
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Assume the following facts are correct. The reach of the advertisement is 60%, the cost of the advertisement is $50,000, the readership of the publication is 200,000, the impact is 4, and the frequency is 4. What is the cost per thousand of the advertisement?
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$250 (200,000/1000 = 200 -> $50,000/200 = $250)
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A supply chain:
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includes all the activities involved in procuring materials, transforming them into products, and distributing them to customers.
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Which of the following is typically the lowest risk approach for moving into international markets?
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exporting
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Which of the following statements is true?
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Advertising offers a reason to buy and sales promotion offers an incentive to buy.
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Missionary salespeople
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work for producers calling on their intermediaries and their customers.
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Choosing an INDIRECT channel probably will be better than a direct channel if a producer wants to:
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adjust large discrepancies of quantity and assortment.
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Multichannel distribution:
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- May involve using both direct and indirect channels simultaneously. - May offer producers a way to reach customers they would not be able to reach with a single channel. - Is becoming more common. - May create channel conflict.
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The most popular sales force payment method is:
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a combination plan
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Conflict between a wholesaler and a retailer is called:
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vertical conflict
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The desirability of a common "product-market commitment" is based on the idea that:
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the whole channel is competing with other channel systems.
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Skye West is a manufacturers' agent. Skye is most likely to have responsibilities like those of
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a producer's order getter
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The physical distribution ________________________ is how rapidly and dependably a firm can deliver merchandise in demand through the appropriate channels.
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customer service level
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Discrepancy of quantity is
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the difference between the quantities of products that it is economical for a producer to make and the quantity final users or consumers normally want.
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Order getters
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are concerned with establishing relationships with new customers and developing new business.
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personal selling
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is often a company's largest single operating expense.
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_____ is a manager who helps directs the activities of a whole channel and tries to avoid or solve channel conflicts.
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a channel captain
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When setting salespeople's compensation level,
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the first step is to write job descriptions.
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Which of the following sales force payment methods is best for SIMPLICITY?
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Straight salary
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The right physical distribution system should be based primarily on
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the desired customer service level
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From a producer's viewpoint, which of the following is an advantage of INTENSIVE DISTRIBUTION over selective distribution?
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Intermediaries' facilities will be more convenient for customers.
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Analysis of sales increases for measuring the effectiveness of a firm's advertising makes the most sense with ______________ advertising.
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direct-response
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If the promotion objective is to develop a desired positioning, which type of publicity would work best?
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branded services
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Traditionally full service advertising agencies are paid:
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as a function of how much advertising they place for their clients.
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Which of the following is the LEAST appropriate advertising objective?
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to increase sales by 20% this year
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Good marketing strategy planners know that:
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A. transporting costs may limit a marketing manager's possible target markets. B. the transporting costs for some bulky or low-value products may be greater than their manufacturing costs. C. transporting is vital for mass distribution and modern urban life. D. the cost of shipping some "high-value" products to users is less than 5 percent of their selling prices.
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The largest share of total advertising expenditures in the United States goes for:
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television and cable advertising
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Which of the following is not used by a media planner to determine how to adjust the cost per thousand calculations?
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A. Audience quality. B. Attention probability. C. Editorial quality.
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"Competitive advertising" tries to:
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develop selective demand rather than primary demand.
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Which of the following observations about the total cost approach is NOT true?
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Focuses on direct costs and doesn't consider the possible costs of lost sales.
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Which of the following observations about the total cost approach is true?
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- Includes transportation costs. - Helps find the lowest total cost for the right service level. - Uses the tools of cost accounting and economics. - Involves evaluating each possible physical distribution system and identifying all of the costs of each alternative.
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"Cooperative" advertising refers to the practice of:
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wholesalers and retailers doing advertising which is partially paid for by the producer.
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