Choices of Belonging: Exploring Identity Through Text
Choices of Belonging: Exploring Identity Through Text

Choices of Belonging: Exploring Identity Through Text

Available Only on StudyHippo
  • Pages: 5 (1135 words)
  • Published: July 11, 2018
  • Type: Lesson
View Entire Sample
Text preview

This passage explores the notion of identity shaped by decisions to associate or disassociate oneself from certain groups. The narrator discusses a recently read book titled "Swallow The Air" and points out an initial section that evaluates the efforts of a Chinese artist. Born into affluence, this artist consciously decided to adopt a life of destitution.

After much thought, I concluded that the decision to remove distractions was intentional and aimed at promoting deeper self-understanding. This person has shown me that understanding oneself is fundamental to experiencing a sense of belonging. Therefore, my belief is that what an individual values most forms their identity. Choosing to cherish these significant elements helps reinforce one's identity. It's only after resolving matters related to personal uniqueness can we truly integrate with t


he broader world in an authentic way.

The first point discussed in the text is about the importance of certain things to the characters. In order to keep these important things close, one must first recognize what truly matters in their life. An example given is May Gibson from the novel "Swallow The Air" who has a strong bond with nature. Water is specifically highlighted as it represents another significant aspect of her identity, which is her family. May reflects on joyful memories of having "tea parties underwater" with her brother.

In the movie "The Secret Garden," Mary Lennox values the importance of friends and family in a different world. Director Agneiska Holland includes elements of magic and the supernatural at crucial moments. The story begins in India, a place Mary finds peculiar. Before an earthquake strikes, Mary expresses how he

View entire sample
Join StudyHippo to see entire essay

parents never prioritized her, implying their actions may have led to a divine punishment.

Both of these texts highlight the importance of family, similar to a play I recently watched called "The Seven Stages of Grieving." In one particular scene, a large aboriginal family is portrayed with vibrant colors and various sounds of family, music, and local birds. This adds to the overall experience by creating a sense of togetherness and excitement. This particular scene presents an ideal family gathering, which characters like May or Mary could only fantasize about. Additionally, the texts explore the reasons for displacement and not fitting in with the rest of the world.

Often, connecting with these vital aspects of life can be challenging, leading to a sense of being disconnected or not belonging in the world. In the novel "Swallow The Air", the title alone suggests that May and her brother face difficulties following their mother's suicide. The phrase "Swallow the Air" vividly portrays the uncomfortable nature of their situation, implying that May is merely surviving instead of truly living. This metaphor effectively communicates the displacement she experiences. Mary, too, is confronted with similar feelings of displacement.

The narrative underscores the protagonist's ironic predicament, characterized by significant deprivation. The absence of parental affection and camaraderie resulting from her sour demeanor stand out in her life. The statement "my parents didn't want me" exudes a profound assurance. This feeling is represented when Mary futilely attempts to attract her mother's attention, only to be disregarded. Following the demise of her parents, she loses all hope and finds herself isolated in a world that once belonged to them. The

phrase "I didn't know how to cry" implies an unfamiliarity with this emotional outlet she was never taught. In the verse "The 7 stages of grieving," the terrifying reality of the kidnapped generation is expressed through different phases. A woman caught in a fragment of light comprises the stage backdrop, signifying her confined condition — effectively conveying mothers' helplessness when soldiers took their children away disrupting their lives significantly. Finally, point 3 underlines making decisions that align one more closely with what genuinely holds importance.

Within each individual lies the ability to seek and hold onto what matters most to them. May, for instance, makes a conscious decision to enhance her familial bonds by reconnecting with her father, only to unearth the "beast she had attempted to conceal." This choice is indicative of May's dedication towards her family. Her recollections of her father shed new light on her mother's suicide through vivid details. Consequently, May manages to establish a more profound connection with her family. On a less significant scale, Mary opts to disclose a secret that results in making her first friend ever. The background music significantly amplifies this scene. Upon Mary revealing her secret, the tone of the music shifts from being laid-back to one filled with intrigue and thrill. As both children step through a door together, two diverse instruments create harmony signifying their bonding moment.

"The Seven Stages of Grieving" is a play that utilizes imaginative lighting and costume design to express the turmoil and irritation faced by an Aboriginal girl compelled to study in an alien language. This narrative diverges from other comparable texts, emphasizing her inability to

choose what she deems significant. Point 4: As priorities become more discernible, so does one's identity and sense of belonging. The act of prioritizing elements that truly matter ultimately culminates in a distinct personal identity and fosters a sense of inclusion.

Upon reaching the end of the movie, Mary Lennox uncovers her true self and builds new relationships, eventually gaining her uncle's affection. The persistent motif of magic is used again when Mary states, "the enchantment was lifted. My uncle found joy in laughter and I discovered the value of tears." This emphasizes the significance of family ties and proffers a gratifying ending. On the flip side, "Swallow The Air" concludes in an unconventional way. May has always been linked with nature, however it is during her journey that she forges stronger connections with her kinfolk. After considering all options, May finally chooses to go back to her home.

She experiences a state of catharsis while strolling along her local beach. She feels a sense of belonging to the water. As she enters the house, she notices that her brother is no longer using drugs and suggests enthusiastically, "Let's go purchase a new tablecloth, Aunty!" Everything seems to be back to normal and May's sense of self is momentarily resolved. However, it becomes evident that very little has actually changed when May returns home. This serves as evidence that she has merely restarted a cycle that she will inevitably repeat as she ages and the significant aspects of her life evolve.

In summary, characters from Tara June Winch's 'Swallow the Air', Angieska Holland's 'The Secret Garden', and 'The Seven Stages of Grieving'

all decide to focus on what they value most like family, friendships, or nature. They only truly understand their own self-identity and find their position in the world when they can surpass feelings of estrangement and isolation. Appreciations.

Get an explanation on any task
Get unstuck with the help of our AI assistant in seconds