Chapter Quiz 7 Digital Marketing – Chapter – Flashcards
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a group of online publishers (typically media websites) that agree to a set of advertising standards dictated by the company managing the ad network -Pays publishers to run ads on their websites -Creates standard ad sizes they agree to display -Charges the advertisers to run the ads on the network of websites -Reports ad performance metrics to the advertisers
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Display Network
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-must create an account, submit correct ad sizes, chooses content they wish to display, paid a percentage of the revenue the display ad network charges advertisers -Gets paid a percentage of revenue made each time the display network charges an advertiser -Only has to coordinate with ad network rather than lots of advertisers
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Publishers
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-Makes money from traffic to their website coming from 100s/1000s of diff websites -Only has to coordinate the ads with the one ad network -earn traffic from display ads -receive reports on where their ads are displayed -Choose sites where they want their ads to appear -Manage budgets on display ad platform -Create & upload ads
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Advertisers
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Display advertisers can pay CPC, CPM (cost-per-mille or cost-per-thousand impressions), or CPA Search advertisers pay CPC or sometimes use CPA (cost-per-acquisition) basis.
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What is the difference between the bidding systems on the Search Network and the Display Network?
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Ad networks compare bids in order to determine which advertisers has the highest bid. To do this, ad networks track the click-through rates (CTR) of advertisers so they can convert CPC bids into CPM bids. -High CPM= get ad space
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How can Google compare a CPM bid and a CPC bid?
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what advertisers in the Google ad network use to find appropriate placement for their ads
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Google Display Ad Planner
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The better an advertiser can target the right audience, the more the advertiser is willing to pay for advertiser
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Universal rule of advertising
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1) Keyword Targeting 2) Interest Targeting 3) Topic Targeting 4) Placement Targeting
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Four Targeting methods for Display Ads
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Placing online display ads based on keywords Shows up on webpages that use the selected keyword Choose ad group and your ad will be displayed on webpages using the selected keywords that relate to the keywords you entered
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Keyword Targeting
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-Shows ads to web users who have a given interest regardless of the webpage they are viewing. -Infers web users' interests based on their past browsing behavior.
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Interest Targeting
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Shows ads based on the topic of the website that match the broad topic being targeted.
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Topic Targeting
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An advertiser can choose to buy ads on specific website(s) that they wish to advertise with by clicking on that ad group and selecting/deselecting websites.
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Placement Targeting
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1) Attract attention -attract visitors attention away from main content of page 2) Communicate a value proposition -Communicates why the product/service being advertised is worth purchasing/adopting 3) Invite Action -Features a CTA (call-to-action) to click on the ad
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Effective Ad Display
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The practice of displaying ads to web users who have already visited that site EX--> You visit Zappos.com and visit another website and Zappos ads are displayed featuring the product(s) you just viewed PURPOSE: Hope to induce return visits from customers.
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Remarketing
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-Occurs through an ad network -Instruct its ad network to display ads to previous visitors -Previous visitors have cookies i their browsers, placed from website -user navigates to a website within ad network and the ad is displayed -Targeting previous website visitors doesn't occur through the website but the ad network
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Remarketing: How it works
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-Profitable advertising technique. -Able to target visitors with a demonstrated interest in the site resulting in his/her conversion rate and profitability -Ad network make more money because it can charge advertisers a higher rate to target these visitors. -Publisher make more money (ad network shares ad revenue with web publishers)
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Remarketing Profitability
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AdWords provides remarking options can target specific audiences such as: -Everyone who has visited any page of the advertiser's site -Anyone that has visited only the advertiser's home pg -Vistors that didn't make a purchase -Visitors that added an item to shopping cart -Customers that made a previous purchase -Visitors that have been to the advertiser's site within a specific time period (30-90 days)
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Remarketing Settings
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Effectiveness of the ads can be directly measured. Can receive reports of where the ads were shown up and amount of clicks.
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Online Display Advertising
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Calculates how much revenue a company's ads generated.
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Return on Ad Spent (ROAS)
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Creating 2 versions of an ad showing both at random across the ad network & allowing the numbers to determine which ad is more effective
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A/B Testing
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1) Communicate the same value propositions 2) Use similar calls to action 3) Enact the same design elements (color scheme, characters, fonts, imagery)
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3 Ways for Consistent Messaging
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(look below)
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1) Display Network 2) Types of Ads on Display network 3) Bidding Types 4) Best practices of display advertising
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better for driving traffic to your site
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Search Ads
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Good for: - brand awareness -remarketing/ retargeting
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Display Ads
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How much Google will get paid from that CPM bid? Reduce 50,000 to 50 CPM x Impressions = ? 2 x 50= $100 CPC x clicks = $100 CPC x 80 = $100 (100/80)= 1.25 CPC= $1.25
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$2 CPM 50,000 impressions 80 clicks What is the corresponding CPC?
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Make them into CPC to tell who's the highest and the lowest bid. Divide 1 1/0.02= 50 =impressions I need to get per click 50 impressions = 1 click 1000 impression = 20 clicks 2.50/20 clicks = 0.12 per click CPC per click = $0.12 (1/0.01)= 100 100 impressions = 1 click 1000 impression = 10 clicks 3.10/10= 0.31 $2.00 CPC $2.60 CPC $0.12 CPC $0.31 CPC
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4 advertisers $2 = CPC $2.60 = CPC $2.50 = CPM w/ click-through rate of 2% $3.10 = CPM w/ click-through rate of 1% Which one will pay the most per click?
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get paid each time an advertiser is charged by the ad network for displaying advertisements on the publisher's site.
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Publishers that participate in a display ad network
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-so they don't have to buy ad space from each publisher individually. -but can pick what types of sites they will allow to show their ad.
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Advertisers buy ad space through display ad networks
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$0.75
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If an advertiser bids a $1.50 CPM, receives 40,000 impressions, and gets 80 clicks, the equivalent CPC bid would be
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banner ads & text ads
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With the Google Display Network, you can run
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$2.50 CPC
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Which advertiser is going to pay the most per click?
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where your target audience is spending their time online.
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The Google Display Ad Planner tells you
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After visitors to the advertiser's site have downloaded a cookie on their browser and they go to a site within the ad network where the advertiser is paying for clicks.
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Remarketing ads are displayed:
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higher CTR and higher conversion rates
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When compared to a typical online ad campaign, remarketing campaigns typically have
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100 impressions is not enough data to know which ad is better.
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After 100 impressions, ad A has a CTR of 1% and a conversion rate of 100%, and ad B has a CTR of 2% and a conversion rate of 0%. Which ad is better?
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- use a similar color scheme -use similar calls to action -highlight the same value propositions
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To have consistent messaging online, all of your ads should
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What is NOT displayed in a PPC text ad?
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The Destination URL
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What is displayed in a PPC text ad?
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Description Line 2, The Display URL and the Title
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In a PPC text ad, it is a best practice to include?
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UVP, CTA, and Keywords pertaining to the ad group
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What does PLA stand for?
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Product Listing Ad
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What is the CTR Formula?
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(Clicks/Impressions)*100
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What is the ROAS Formula?
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(Total Revenue/Total Adspend)*100
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What does ROAS stand for?
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Return on Advertising Spend
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Each time an ad is considered for display for a particular keyword, Google recalculates the __________ _________.
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Quality Score
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Ad Rank takes into consideration two things. They are?
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Keyword Bid and Quality Score
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What is NOT considered when determining Quality Score?
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Conversion Rate
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Expected CTR, Landing Page Experience and Ad Relevance should be considered when determining ?
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The Quality Score
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Which advertisers is awarded the top ad position?
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It depends on who receives the highest Ad Rank
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Allows the highest bidder to pay only a penny more than the second highest bidder.
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Second-Price Auction Model
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This planner is relevant, but one should not expect to pay the exact same CPC as the planner suggests and provides data that helps with keyword research.
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The Google Keyword Planner CPC Data
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Ad relevance, quality scores, and ensuring that an ad shows for specific key words are all ways to help someone?
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Organizing a Campaign
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If a keyword has a low search volume, you should?
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Consider the CPC and if the ad and landing page are relevant to determine if you should choose that keyword.
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If someone bids on the keyword ipad mini tablet as a keyword using the [ ] brackets like so [ipad mini tablet] your ad will show?
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Only when someone searches for ipad mini tablet
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What is the correct format for the Broad Match Modified keyword match type for ipad mini?
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+ipad+mini
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What does PPC stand for?
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Pay Per Click
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What does SEM stand for?
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Search Engine Marketing
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What does CTR stand for?
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Click-Through Rate
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What does CPC stand for?
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Cost Per Click
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What does CPA stand for?
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Cost Per Acquisition
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What does UVP stand for?
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Unique Value Proposition
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Keyword Relevance, enticing and UVP, an obvious CTA, and Ad extensions are common elements for a?
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High Performing Text Ad
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Relevant to the keyword searched, match the ad message, UVP, and CTA, and make it obvious for the user for what they need to do to continue through to conversion are common elements for a?
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Landing Page
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In a Pay Per Click Ad, how many words is in the title line?
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25
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In a Pay Per Click Ad, how many words is in the body and URL?
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35
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Links, images, and info about other products
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1. Single product landing pages should include all of the following except:
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Phone number
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2. Which of the following should go in the upper-fold of a lead generation landing page?
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Long-copy landing pages
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3. The landing page type is known as the infomercial of the internet:
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The part of the page that can be seen without having to scroll down
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4. The upper fold of the landing page is defined as:
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Multi-product landing page
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5. If you advertise on a keyword such as discounted android tablets, which type of landing page would be best for the ad?
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Elements that do not directly impact the visitors' decision to reach the goal you have in mind
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6. Landing pages should not include:
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Any symbol, icon, image, or small statement communicating to the user that the site is legitimate
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7. A trust symbol is:
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Increase the number of required form fields
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8. When trying to increase the number of form fills received on a lead-generation landing page, which of the following is NOT a best practice?
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16.02%
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9. John's Bracelets, an ecommerce site, received 304,00 visitors and earned $73,500 in revenue from 48,700 transactions. What is John's conversion rate?
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Streamline the payment process
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10. Lowering the shopping cart abandonment rate is a reliable way to improve conversion rates. Which of the following action is most likely to decrease shopping cart abandonment?
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user
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Final word on website design changes belong to the
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The one that leads users to the desired behavior (purchases, page views, leads generated, etc.)
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What design should be used on a website?
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data generated by website users -used to make informed decisions about web design to improve portion of customers in desired behavior as well as to track volume of visitors
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Website Analytics
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-install an analytics program into every page of website (done by pasting a small snippet of HTML code into tag of the pages) -Passes info to analytics program every time the server receives a request for that page OR -Google Tag Manager (don't have to alter code of page)
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Tracking website user behavior
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1) User takes an action to request a page on a website 2) When user navigates to that webpage, server receives a request for information & sends it across the internet to the requesting computer. Server passes info to data-collection center in analytics package. 3) Data-collection center stores data for this server request & all other requests until a user sees data through analytics. 4) Analytics package aggregates & organizes this data according to the user's requests
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Tracking website user behavior Process
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-Analytics knows when the same computer is making multiple requests of the server. -Track path of individual computer -Cookies recognize previous users -Server requests are time stamped do analytics knows which page was seen first. -How long users spend on each page -Analytics tracks where users initially come from to visit website. -Analytics records technical infer about each user -Operating system used, screen size, browser -Analytics tracks geography [zip code, area]
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Supplemental Information
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User organizes data according to their preferences and needs. Can also customize their reports.
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Organizing Data
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-Pageview [user accesses a page on a website] -Visit [user enters a website] -Visitor -Time on page -Entry [first pageview] -Exit [last page a user visits]
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Basic Metrics
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-Average Page Depth [measure of user engagement] -Average Visit Duration -Site Bounce Rate [% of all visits that have only 1 pg. view] -Page Bounce Rate [% of visits that begin on a pg. and have only 1 pageview] -Entrance Rate [% of visits that begin on that page] -Exit Rate [% of page views that result in an exit] -Unique Pageviews [removes double page view counts from a single visit] -Unique Visitors
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Calculated Metrics
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The user must set up goals in analytics to tell the analytics package specific user actions to a website wishes to measure. Four Types of Goals: 1) Destination 2) Duration 3) Pages / Screens per session 4) Event
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Manual Metrics
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Instructs analytics that a goal has been met when a user reaches a specific page on a site EX- "Thank you for registering with us!" webpage
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Destination [goal]
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-An action defined as a event that's measured in analytics. -Can set up an event goal that would trigger whenever that event occurred. EX- Social recommendation, video play, ad click
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Event [goal]
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-User views a specific # of pages or screens -Goal would trigger whenever a user visited more or less than a given # of pages EX- finding out percentage of users visit >5 webpages
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Pages-per-visit [goal]
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Measures sessions that last a specific amount of time. EX- What percentage of visitors stay on the site longer than 2 minutes
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Duration // time-on-site [goal]
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Conversion Rate Revenue Revenue per visitor
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Other metrics
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tracks the percentage of visits that result in the intended action
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Conversion Rate
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Analytics can track revenue and leads
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Revenue
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-revenue per vistor = revenue/visits -Determines how much a company can spend on advertising to attract visitors to its site
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Revenue per visitor
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Metrics the website considers to be the most important measures of its success Websites should have different KPIs that are tailored to benefit them and track/measure their performance.
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Key Performance Indicators (KPIs)
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Goal of retail websites are to sell products. -Visits -Conversion Rate -Average Order Value -Revenue per visitor
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Retail KPIs
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Lead-generation websites still look for conversions. -Unique Visitors -Conversion Rate -Close Rate -Closed Deal Value -Revenue Per Visitor
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Lead Generation KPIs
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Media sites are concerned with generating traffic & keeping visitors engaged. Make $ through advertising. -Visits -Average page depth [indicates user engagement & good content navigation] -Average visit duration [good measure for sites w/ more video content] -Conversions [want users to sign up for emails, create accounts]
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Media KPIs
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Social media sites care about user engagement and make $ through advertising. -New Account sign-ups (conversions) -Posts/Tweets/Pins -Likes/Re-Tweets/Re-Pins -Average time on site
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Social Media KPIs
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Search Engine's goal is to provide the best list of content possible to users so they can find the best content. Has explicit goal to generate a user exit. -Searches -Conversion Rate -Average Page Depth
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Search Engine KPIs
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Provides a useful way to divide purchase procedure into steps so that a web team can analyze where in the purchase process consumers are having difficulty or abandoning purchase procedure. Can help all different types of websites: -RETAIL: can help make a more detailed analysis of conversion process -LEAD-GENERATION: knowing where users are deviating in the process of filling out a lead -MEDIA: interested in signing up its users for premium content or generating a email list On a retail site the 3 steps before completing a purchase are typically: 1) Put products in shopping cart 2) Check out [enter payment & shipping info] 3) Confirm order Typical issue is not providing a prominent call to action (CTA) for users to begin checkout procedure once they placed items in their shopping cart). Retail websites should always be striving to increase their conversion rate.
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Conversion Funnel
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Visits to a site can be generated by: 1) Organic Search 2) Paid search ads 3) Display ads 4) Emails 5) Social media 6) External links 7) Affiliate links
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Examining website KPIs by traffic source
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Any method of dividing customers into groups that differ in a meaningful and actionable way -Segmenting site visitors based on source channel is a way to group web traffic Other ways to segment visitors by: -Geography -New vs. Returning visitors -Timing -Browser -Screen size -Device
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Segmentation
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-Gives full credit to the last touchpoint in the marketing channel -Know w/ certainty that the last touchpoint did indeed contribute to the sale -The most common and easy way to assign credit to advertising efforts
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Last-Click Attribution
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-the first customer interaction receives all the credit for the sale -can sometimes be highly inaccurate
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First-Click Attribution
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Assigns equal credit to every recorded interaction with the customer before the customer makes a purchase
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Linear Attribution
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Interactions that happen closer to the time of transaction receive more credit than interactions further in the past
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Time-Decay Attribution
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1) For any other attribution method, a company need to specify a window of time for which a prior transaction can be given credit. 2) Methods still only account for specific kinds of online interactions -Ignore banner ad exposure, offline advertising 3) Any interaction with a customer that didn't cause a transaction shouldn't be credited as having any influence on a future customer transaction
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Disadvantages of alternative attribution methods:
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user didn't click on anything else on site, they just left after one page view
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Bounce
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For my site, my marketing methodology is to get found (publish optimize, promote content, how many users are coming in, keywords that helped me get found)
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Ask: What's meaningful to my site as a conversion?
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-total = unique (reach) + repeat (stickiness) -referring sources -page popularity -keywords
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Site traffic metrics
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-referring sources, pages, keywords (no need to connect Search Console to Google Analytics) -Bounce Rate Other metrics: -Direct traffic
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Traffic to lead conversion
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characteristics of users, descriptors, describe source of traffic EX: browsers that people used
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Dimensions
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the numbers EX: # of sessions, # of pages per session
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Metrics
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Sessions are defined by 30 minutes (default)
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Google Analytics defines a single session by:
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It places a cookie on each computer that visits the site.
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How does analytics track the identity of a computer?
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Memory
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What technical information about a visitor's computer is NOT known to analytics?
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Zip code
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What is the most detailed level of geographic information known to analytics?
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a page view
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A "hit" is another term for
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Some visitors made multiple visits.
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My analytics tells me that last week my site had 3,000 visits but only 2,500 visitors. What explains this discrepancy?
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4
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The 3,000 visits to my site last week resulted in 12,000 hits. What was the average page depth last week?
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destination
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A retail site should track conversions by setting up a(n) ___________ goal in analytics.
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time on site
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I have a blog and I want to track the engagement of my readers. My blog posts usually take at least 4 minutes to read, and I want to track the percentage of users who read an entire blog post. I should set up a(n) _____________ goal.
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$0.10
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Last week, the 3000 visits to my site generated $600 in revenue selling product that cost me $300. What is the most I should spend on a PPC advertisement for my website?
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key performance indicator
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KPI stands for
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average page depth; average visit duration
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A media site with lots of written articles should probably use __________ as a KPI, while a media site with mostly video content should us ____________ as a KPI.
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Getting visitors to place an item in the cart
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Consider the following conversion funnel: Visits: 1000 > Product in cart: 100 > Proceed to checkout: 98 > Entered shipping information: 93 > Entered payment information: 87 > Completed transaction: 85 - Where should we focus our efforts to increase the conversion rate?
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investigate whether our site is optimized for mobile users.
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If we find through analytics that visitors from mobile devices have a 0% conversion rate while users on a full-size monitor have a 3% conversion rate, we should
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search engines
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Last-click attribution will likely exaggerate the value of traffic that comes from
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all prior customer touchpoints that can be tracked in analytics
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Linear attribution gives credit to
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Provide a check box that is unchecked by default during the checkout process for customers to sign up for emails.
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Online retailers can and should encourage every customer to sign up for regular emails from the retailer. In order to avoid spam filters, the retailer should
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Sends an email to confirm the customer's desire to be on the email list.
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A double opt-in email capture practice is one that
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As often as it can create valuable content.
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How often should a company send emails?
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When response rate is highest.
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During what time of day should emails be sent?
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Send emails to the whole list while changing parts of the content to match segment characteristics.
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One way to use an email list segmentation scheme is to send certain emails only to specific segments. Another way is to:
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Sent to an individual to update him/her about a purchase.
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A transactional email is:
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A triggered email.
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Sending an email to a shopper who has abandoned their shopping cart is an example of:
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A dedicated landing page showing ski helmets with a 15% markdown.
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If I run a retail website that sells sports equipment and I send a broadcast email to my email list advertising a 15% discount on ski helmets, then a user who clicks on the email should be taken to:
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$1250
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Suppose I send an email with the following characteristics: 25% open rate; 25% click-through rate; 20% conversion rate; $100 average order value. How much revenue can I expect this email to generate if I send it out to my entire email list of 1000 members?
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A page that unsubscribes the user but allows them to stay subscribed to a smaller portion of emails and/or asks the reason for unsubscribing.
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When a member of our email list clicks an unsubscribe button, they should be taken to
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Conversion Rate Optimization
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CRO
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Unique Value Proposition
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UVP
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User Experience
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UX
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Call to Action
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CTA
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High priced items, health and fitness items, industries where the market is skeptical, highly competitive industries, and with new technologies and unknown services.
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What kinds of products do long copy landing pages work well for
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Main call to action in upper fold (no scrolling), repetition of call to action as user scrolls, engaging content, include videos, images, testimonials, trust symbols, common design theme, and professionally developed content.
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What must marketers do to maximize the effectiveness of long copy landing pages?
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An experimental approach to web design which aims to identify changes to web pages that increase or maximize an outcome of interest (e.g., scheduling a test drive of a car, increasing the total purchase amount in a shopper's shopping basket).
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What is A/B Testing
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Often the current approach that a company is using
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What is a control condition?
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To establish benchmark metrics. We measure them based on existing pages that we are using
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Why is it important to include a control condition?
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Two or more versions are compared, which are identical except for one variation that might impact a user's behavior.
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How many things can be tested at one time, when one conducts an A/B test?
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Because surveys are what customers say they do but a/b testing shows what a customer ACTUALLY ends up doing
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Why is A/B testing superior to survey-based research that gauge customers' opinions and attitudes?
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Can be helpful in ensuring a site is clear and easy to use such that potential customers have a seamless experience on the site
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UX Tests
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It places a cookie on each computer that visits the site
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How does analytics track the identity of a computer?
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Memory
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What technical information about a visitor's computer is NOT known to analytics?
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Zip Code
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What is the most detailed level of geographic information known to analytics?
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A page view
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A "hit" is another term for what?
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Some visitors made multiple visits
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My analytics tells me that last week my site had 3,000 visits but only 2,500 visitors. What explains this discrepancy?
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4
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The 3,000 visits to my site last week resulted in 12,000. What was the average page depth last week?
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destination
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A retail site should track conversions by setting up a(n) _____ goal in analytics
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Destination
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To track the number of video views on my site, I would set up a(n) ______ goal.
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time-on-site
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I have a blog and i want to track the engagement of my readers. My blog posts usually take at least 4 minutes to read, and i want to track the percentage of users who read an entire blog post. I should set up a(n) _____ goal.
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$.10
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Last week, the 3,000 visits to my site generated $600 in revenue selling product that cost me $300. What is the most I should spend on a PPC for my website?
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Key performance indicator
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KPI stands for
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Average page depth; average visit duration
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A media site with lots of written articles should be probably use _____ as a KPI, whereas a media site with mostly video content should use _____ as a KPI
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Getting visitors to place an item in the cart
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Consider the following conversion funnel:
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Investigate whether our site is optimized for mobile users
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If we find through analytics that visitors from mobile devices have a 0% conversion rate whereas users on a full-size monitor have a 3% conversion rate, what should we do?
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Search engines
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Last-click attribution will likely exaggerate the value of traffic that comes from where?
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All prior customer touchpoints that can be tracked in analytics
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Linear attribution gives credit to what?
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Provide a check box that is unchecked by default during the checkout process for customers to sign up for emails
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Online retailers can and should encourage every customer to sign up for regular emails from the retailer. In order to avoid spam filters, the retailer should
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Sends an email to confirm the customer's desire to be on the email list
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A double opt-in email capture practice is one that
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As often as it can create valuable content
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How often should a company send emails?
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When response rate is highest
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During what time of the day should emails be sent?
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Send emails to the whole list while changing parts of the content to match segment characteristics
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One way to use an email list segmentation scheme is to send certain emails only specific segments. Another way is to
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Sent to an individual to update him/her about a purchase
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A transactional email is
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A triggered email
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Sending an email to a shopper who has abandoned their shopping cart is an example of
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A dedicated landing page showing ski helmets with a 15% markdown
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If I run a retail website that sells sports equipment and i send a broadcast email to my email list advertising a 15% discount on ski helmets, then a user who clicks on the email should be taken to
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$1000
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Suppose I send an email with the following characteristics: 25% open rate; 5% click-through rate (calculated from total delivered emails); 20% conversion rate; $100 average order value. How much revenue can i expect this email to generate if I send it out to my entire email list of 1000 members?
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A page that unsubscribes the user but allows them to stay subscribed to a smaller portion of emails and/or asks the reason for unsubscribing
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When a member of our email list clicks an unsubscribe button, they should be taken to
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Companies must allocate resources to managing their media accounts
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Why is social media not free?
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Those exposed to it forward it on to other friends, thus spreading it until it reaches market saturation
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A video or other content "goes viral" when
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Yes
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A company wants to be scientific about creating a viral video. It has created a video and estimates the following virality parameters:
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build brand equity
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For a company like Oracle or Cisco, neither of which sell products online, the purpose of their social media is likely to be to
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Their dealers would be upset at having to compete with online sales
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Ford's objective in running social media campaigns is to build brand equity rather than increase online sales because
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Provide value to its followers
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Social media content from a company should
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Both a and b a. there should already be content for followers to see b. the company needs to have content plan in place
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Companies should plan their content before they begin efforts to attract followers because
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Company X's fan are more engaged
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Company X has 2,000 Facebook Likes while Company Y has 10,000 Facebook Likes. Company X's Facebook Effort might be more successful than Company Y's efforts if
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fan
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When two people connect on Facebook, they are friends. When a person connects to a company on Facebook, the person is considered a ______ of the company
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bid amount x click-through rate
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Facebook decides which ads to show based on eCPM, effective Cost Per Mille, which is calculated as
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@
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A Twitter handle, the unique identifier of
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make Tweets searchable
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A hashtag's primary purpose on Twitter is to
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some Twitter accounts have a list of followers that is many degrees of magnitudes larger than average
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A viral strategy that targets "influencers" (key people with a larger-than-average share of influence) is more likely to work on Twitter than Facebook because
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it first gained popularity among the mostly female arts and crafts community
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The majority of Pinterest user are users are women because
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Provide a "Pin it" button on Pinterest-worthy content on the brand's website
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Two general methods of promoting a brand on Pinterest are (1) to curate Pin boards belonging to the brand within Pinterest and (2) to
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All of the above a. a greater ability to target smaller, more specialized audiences b. the ability to advertise with a smaller budget c. the ability to achieve conversions immediately
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The benefit of advertising on YouTube instead of or in addition to television advertising is
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Simultaneously entertains and advertises
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The gold standard for business use of YouTube is to create a video that
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Build its brand equity
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IBM's primary goal in its use of YouTube is to
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Job activity from influencers
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Which of the following would you NOT see in your LinkedIn Updates?
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Companies targeting professionals
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Advertising on LinkedIn can be very profitable for
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All of the above a. Ensuring that searchers find overwhelmingly positive information about a brand online b. Monitoring the web for negative content c. Determining if when and how to respond to negative content about your brand online
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Online Reputation Management is the practice of:
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To catch and stop frequent trademark infringement
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Assume that Nike PR and SEO employee are monitoring mentions of the "Just Do It." Why would they most likely do that?
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Get emails and/or RSS feed alerts that send links to new pages Google has crawled/indexed surrounding terms you specify
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With Google Alerts you can
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Create lots of positive content on a variety of sites that discuss your brand as a main topic and add value to the web so it can outrank the negative content
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In order to rank lots of positive content about your brand on the SERPs for your brand, it is wise to
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All of the above a. Scam Reporting sites b. Online Review sites c. News/Press sites
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Site that frequently rank negative content about brands online include:
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A timely response
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Effective emergency response to negative publicity includes:
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All of the above a. Be transparent and admit any wrongdoing b. Have a plan in place for how, where and when employees should respond c. Try to always respond to negative complaints offline
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When responding to negative content it is best to
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Extargetemployees.com
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If you were target.com, which site is a site that you would NOT want to rank for your brand on a keyword search for "Target"
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It has a large amount of links from reputable, powerful sites that also mention the branded keywords you wish to rank for
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Positive content online is easier to rank online if
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All of the above a. Corporate ads b. Social Media profiles c. Products microsites
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Web pages that frequently rank well for branded search terms include
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Random assortment content coding
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Options for optimizing mobile web content include all of the following EXCEPT
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use responsive web design
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Generally, the recommended approach for optimizing mobile web content is to
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Mobile devices make scrolling more difficulty
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Which of the following is NOT a technical constraint of mobile devices that a web designer needs to consider in optimizing mobile website?
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Mobile users are more likely to want to make an online transaction
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Mobile device users typically differ from desktop users in all of the following ways EXCEPT
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Today and tomorrow
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To streamline the booking produce for mobile users, Priceline.com's mobile site loads the hotel search page with a default check-in and check-out date of
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All of the above a. an in-store visit b. a phone call c. an app download
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In addition to to a purchase transaction, a conversation for a mobile web user can be
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B and C b. After full optimization of the mobile website c. only if the company determines that an app will provide significant benefits to customers beyond the mobile website
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Production of a mobile application should begin
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Accidental clicks caused by the lower level of precision of a fingertip relative to a mouse icon
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"Fat-finger" clicks refer to
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Offering different ads or changing bid amounts by time of day
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Dayparting is a practice of
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Sending text message to potential customer who enter a "fenced" area
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Geofencing is a practice of